We are Transitioning to a New Website

Please have patience with us as we transition to a new website. The links in this menu will take you to the new site as those pages become available.

Thursday, December 31, 2020

From the Publisher's Desk: Goodbye 2020, looking back on the highlights

Headwinds, by Edna Bell-Pearson
2020 Kansas Notable Book Award

 December 31, 2020

Dear Reader-Dear Friend,

It has been a difficult year on so many levels, yet we have been fortunate to add some amazing books to the Meadowlark bookshelf. We are growing, and the community that supports us is growing too.

I thought I’d take this time to share just a few of the highlights from our year.

· The city of Iola chose ToLeave a Shadow, by Michael D. Graves, to be their winter, Community Reads book. We also released the 3rd Pete Stone novel, All Hallows’ Shadows, at this time.

· Our first YA novel, Opulence,Kansas, by Julie Stielstra, was published and quickly claimed as a great read by book lovers of many ages.

· Our first audio book was launched, thanks to the patience and diligence of Ruth Maus, author of Valentine (2019 Birdy finalist).

· The BigQuiet: One Woman’s Horseback Ride Home, by Lisa D. Stewart, became a quick favorite with readers, garnering some of the most heart-felt reviews we have ever received.

· Linzi Garcia joined the Meadowlark Team as publicist!

· Edna Bell-Pearson made the 2020 Kansas Notable list with Headwinds, A Memoir.

· Michael D. Graves was awarded the 2020 J. Donald Coffin Memorial Book Award for All Hallows’ Shadows at the Kansas Authors Club virtual convention in October.

· We were honored to add Arlice W. Davenport to our list of authors, with the publication of his first poetry book, Settingthe Waves on Fire.

· Our second YA novel was published, ATime for Tears, by Jerilynn Jones Henrikson.

· With Cheryl Unruh/Quincy Press, we began planning for the launch of 105: Meadowlark Reader, a new literary print journal featuring true Kansas stories written by Kansas residents (past or present).

· Three of our authors, Jerilynn Henrikson, Julie Stielstra, and Mike Graves, were invited to present at the Kansas Library Association Conference (online) in October.

· We published Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg’s master collection of poetry, How Time Moves: New and SelectedPoems. Caryn was the 2009-13 Kansas Poet Laureate. The virtual book launch, hosted by The Raven Bookstore and Lawrence Public Library, was attended by more than 100 guests.

· James Kenyon completed his second book on closed high schools, this time covering the state of Iowa. The book will begin shipping in 2021.

· The Birdy Poetry Prize had its biggest year yet, with 120 entries! We hope you will join us for a reading and announcement of the 2021 winner in March (stay tuned for a save-the-date announcement and invitation).


And a preview of what is to come:

· We will kick of 2021 with the release of the 2020 Birdy Poetry Prize Books. Winner, JC Mehta’s SelectedPoems: 2000-2020 and finalist Brian Daldorph’s KansasPoems are now available for ordering on our website.

· We are working with Kevin Rabas on his newest collection of poetry titled More Than Words.

· Our first illustrated children’s book will be published, a project with the Kansas Wetlands Education Center. We are working with Mandy Kern, program specialist for the center, and Emporia artist, Onalee Nicklin.


If you have a Meadowlark book on your bedside table or bookshelf, we count you among our blessings for this year. Thank you, and I look forward to checking in with you next year.

Much love and good reading,


Meadowlark Press

No comments:

Post a Comment