The Birdy Poetry Prize, by Meadowlark Books

About The Birdy Poetry Prize:
Meadowlark Books created The Birdy Poetry Prize to celebrate the voices of this era.

2019 Winner & Finalist List (announced 01/14/2019)
2020 Winner & Finalist List (announced 03/11/2020)
2021 Winner & Finalist List (announced 3/13/2021)

Accepting Entries: September 1 - December 1, 2021

Entry Fee: $25

Prize: $1,000 cash, publication by Meadowlark Books, including 50 copies of the completed book 

All entries will be considered for standard Meadowlark Books publishing contract offers, as well.  

Full-length poetry manuscripts (55 page minimum, 90+ pages preferred) will be considered. Poems may be previously published in journals and/or anthologies, but not in full-length, single-author volumes. Poets are eligible to enter, regardless of publishing history. Previous winners and published finalists of the Birdy Poetry Prize competition are NOT eligible to enter.

Manuscript Preparation

The author’s name should not appear anywhere on the document. 
Manuscript should include:  
  • title of collection
  • any section or division headings, if desired
  • all poems to be included in the collection