Events

January 2018

Saturday, January 20, 4-5:30pm - Ellen Plumb's City Bookstore, Emporia, KS
Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg: Blogging for your Soul & Audience
Keeping a regular blog can be a spiritual and artistic practice as well as a way to connect intimately and immediately with readers, and build an audience for your writing. In this lively workshop, Caryn will share tools and tricks for creating meaning-making posts that help you grow your writing as a practice and craft, and give readers a fresh view of their lives and worlds. We’ll also generate lists for future blog posts, and discuss how to find your way to veins of gold by cozying up with various topics and approaches. By the time we’re done, you’ll have some blog posts started, a list of titles and strategies for future writing, and sparks about how to get your blog, and your words, out there. Moreover, you’ll unearth greater paths to write for your body and soul, life, and world. Admission to the workshop is the purchase of one copy (or more) of EVERYDAY MAGIC. This workshop benefits both our independent bookstore, Ellen Plumb's City Bookstore, and local independent publisher, Meadowlark Press.

Saturday, January 20, 6-6:30pm - Ellen Plumb's City Bookstore, Emporia, KS
Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg: An Everyday Magic Reading
Please join us for the Emporia launch of Caryn's latest book, EVERYDAY MAGIC: FIELDNOTES ON THE MUNDANE & MIRACULOUS, published by Emporia's own Meadowlark Press. The short reading -- 30-40 minutes -- will be followed by a book signing and some fun visiting together. EVERYDAY MAGIC features the best of Caryn's blog of the same title, exploring the mundane and miraculous unfolding around us, and how to live with greater verve, meaning and joy. Journey through whimsical, tender, and fierce explorations of travel and homecoming, beloveds and the art of loving, grief and resilience, the arts and politics, spirit and being a body, and many other glimpses of being all-too-human in an astonishing world.

Saturday, January 20, 2-5pm - Watkins Museum of History, 1047 Massachusetts, Lawrence, KS
A Celebration of William Stafford: Living a Poetic Life
Hosted by Ronda Miller - Readings by Kevin Rabas and Others

Sunday, January 28, 4pm CST/5pm EST/ 3pm MST/2pm PST
Blogging for Your Soul & Audience: A New Year Workshop
90-minute video conferenced workshop you can participate in from anywhere in the world (via your computer or phone): Admission to the workshop is $29 and includes one copy of Everyday Magic: Fieldnotes on the Mundane and Miraculous.

February 2018


Saturday, February 10th, 2-3pm - at the Emporia Public Library, 110 E. 6th Ave., Emporia
Poet Laureate: Kevin Rabas 
Kevin Rabas will be presenting “Finding the Extraordinary in the Ordinary.” Through poetry, he will explore the beauty and value in everything around us. 

Sunday, February 11th, 2pm - Red Rocks State Historic Site, 927 Exchange., Emporia
Short Play Festival - produced by Kevin Rabas